Jul 6, 2017

The Cafe by the Sea by Jenny Colgan Review

The Cafe by the Sea
By Jenny Colgan
Released: June 27th, 2017
William Morrow Paperbacks
Source: Book I own




The beloved author of The Bookshop on the Corner returns with a sparkling, sunny, soulful new novel perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand.


Years ago, Flora fled the quiet Scottish island where she grew up -- and she hasn't looked back. What would she have done on Mure? It's a place where everyone has known her all her life, where no one will let her forget the past. In bright, bustling London, she can be anonymous, ambitious... and hopelessly in love with her boss.

But when fate brings Flora back to the island, she's suddenly swept once more into life with her brothers -- all strapping, loud, and seemingly incapable of basic housework -- and her father. Yet even amid the chaos of their reunion, Flora discovers a passion for cooking -- and find herself restoring dusty little pink-fronted shop on the harbour: a café by the sea.

But with the seasons changing, Flora must come to terms with past mistakes -- and work out exactly where her future lies...

We are back with another marvelous book from Jenny Colgan! So strap in, and be prepared to fall in love, with not only another fictional boyfriend, or town, but with a story that will haunt you forever!

Flora MacKenzie left the small Scottish Island of Mure under a dark cloud, and fled to London, to become a paralegal, living in a house share and having a crush on the big boss, Joel Binder…a man that didn't really know she existed. But all of that changed when Coltan Rodgers came to see her boss, needing Flora to help him set up his visit on Mure.

So now Flora is back on Mure, facing her past, dealing with family and the village she grew up with, and facing the pain. But Flora is now seeing things and people differently, including her life back in London, what will happen when her boss comes to check out this project? And will Flora want to leave when her assignment is done?

I have loved Jenny Colgan's books for years! When I was a 21 year old Nanny in London, and my weekends were filled with taking books to Greenwich Park or Starbucks at Tower Bridge and having a mini book club (before I knew what they were) and talking about how much we loved "Looking for Andrew McCarthy", but when I left the motherland (England), for America, I have to admit, I forgot about her amazing books…Until The Bookshop on the Corner hit my desk, and all those amazing feelings and memories came rushing back.

The characters in this book are amazing. Both Flora and Joel's characters are complex, but relatable and very likable. Now I loved all of Flora's brothers and I would love for them to have their own spin off books *hint hint*, but for me, the two characters that stood out the most for me, were Fintan and Coltan! And the only one I struggled with, was Charlie, and I'm not sure I even know why I did!

The authors writing is distinctive, and she has that power to transport you into the story, and make you feel like you are a part of it, rather and an observer, and in my humble opinion, that is what makes and amazing book and amazing author.


I give The Café by the Sea 5 stars!




Jenny Colgan is the New York Times bestselling author of numerous novels, including Little Beach Street Bakery, Christmas at Rosie Hopkins’ Sweetshop, and Christmas at the Cupcake Café, all international bestsellers. Jenny is married with three children and lives in London and Scotland.



No comments:

Post a Comment